Skip to main content

What to do if an alert has Expired status

What to do if you have the Expired (formerly Lost) status for bad alerts.

Written by Theodore

This article applies to merchants who see the status Expired (formerly called Lost) on a CDRN alert or Ethoca Alert in Prevent. This article explains why the alert has that status and what to do next.
​
It doesn't explain how to file credit requests or provide any information to help with lost chargebacks.

What the Expired Status Means

If your Prevent alert shows Expired, then the alert expired before a refund was issued.

What to Do If You See This Status

Search for the transaction tied to the alert in your dashboard using our guide for Attention-status alerts. If no transaction exists in your dashboard, follow this guide to file a Manual Credit Request.

If you already refunded the transaction but the alert shows Expired, contact Support before issuing another refund. Include the Alert ID, the refund date and status from your payment processor, and a screenshot of the alert status.

We cannot credit alerts with the Expired status that have transactions tied to them.

What Happens Next

If the transaction exists and was disputed, it may become a chargeback within 120 days.

If a credit request exists, then the request will move forward through the normal review process. If you don't see a credit request option, then contact Support.

💬 Still need help? Contact Chargeback.io support.

Did this answer your question?